OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE REGULAR UNIFIED SCHOOL BOARD MEETING – The Unified Board of Education met in Davenport on January 13, 2025. Pursuant to laws and notices posted at Bruning-Davenport Schools, Cornerstone Bank, Bruning Bank, Bruning Post Office, Davenport Post Office, and also published in The Hebron Journal Register on January 8, 2025; all proceedings were taken while the meeting was open to the public.

President Baysinger called the meeting to order at 7:30 pm. Unified members present were Jamie Koch, Sarah Krehnke, Ryan Miller, Sheri Norder, and Brad Williams. Local board members present were Baxter Beals, Jeff Hoins, Pat Kowalski, Ryne Philippi, and Lon Schoenholz. Also present were Superintendent Kelly Lampe, Principal JJ Wagner, Erika Brinegar, Addison Brase, Peyton Domeier, Melinda Kerwood, Krissy Ozenbaugh, Brooke Soukup, and Ali Strong.

Baysinger welcomed all guests and recognized the Open Meetings Act.

Seniors presented on Senior Sneak during the public forum.

The Consent Agenda included the agenda, minutes of the December 9, 2024 Unified Board meeting, Treasurer's Report, and the January claims. Ryan Miller moved, seconded by Brad Williams to approve the Consent Agenda as presented. Roll Call Vote (6-0)

Bruning Election Results: President – Lon Schoenholz, Vice-President – Pat Kowalski, Secretary/Treasurer – Jerry Baysinger. Committee Members are Americanism – Jerry Baysinger and Sheri Norder, Building and Grounds – Pat Kowalski and Ryne Philippi, and Transportation – Sarah Krehnke and Lon Schoenholz. Membership to the Unified Board: Sarah Krehnke, Sheri Norder, and Ryne Philippi.

Davenport Election Results: President – Jeff Hoins, Vice-President – Baxter Beals, Secretary/Treasurer – Derek Shaner. Committee Members are Americanism – Baxter Beals and Jamie Koch, Building and Grounds – Jeff Hoins and Brad Williams, Transportation – Ryan Miller and Derek Shaner. Membership to the Unified Board: Jamie Koch, Ryan Miller, and Brad Williams.

Election results for the Unified Board Officers: President – Jamie Koch, Vice-President – Ryne Philippi, Secretary/Treasurer – Sarah Krehnke.

The Unified Board appointed negotiation committee members: Certified Negotiation Committee – Jerry Baysinger, Sarah Krehnke, and Ryan Miller; Classified Negotiation Committee – Jeff Hoins, Pat Kowalski, and Lon Schoenholz.

BDS Coop Committee Members: Baxter Beals, Jami Koch, and Sheri Norder.

Principal Wagner reported on the following items – JH Basketball is almost wrapped up – STEPS training is still in process

Principal Kowalski's report – working on getting Fast Bridge set up – One-Act was 5th at State – BD has an 'Excellent' rating

Superintendent Lampe reported on the following – Daycare is moving forward with the architect and expansion – Buildings and Grounds Committee is going to visit Cross County – PowerSchool data breech is being investigated

New Business: (All motions require a roll call vote and all carried 6-0 unless noted.)

- A. Williams moved, seconded by Ryne Philippi to approve moving Policy 4064 Early Retirement to 4021.
- B. Ryan Miller moved, seconded by Norder to approve Policy 4064 Transporting Students, option 2.
- C. Williams moved, seconded by Philippi to approve updated to Policy 4059 Behavioral Mental Health Training.
- D. Williams moved, seconded by Sheri Norder to approve the resignation of Debra McDonald.
- E. Williams moved, seconded by Philippi to approve Arnold (L.A.) Adams as 2-8 PE Teacher.
- F. Norder moved, seconded by Krehnke to approve Rebecca Morris as a custodian.
- G. Krehnke moved, seconded by Miller to approve Derek Shaner as a bus driver.
- H. Miller moved, seconded by Philippi to approve Shannon Collier as a paraeducator.
- I. Philippi moved, seconded by Williams to approve the mileage reimbursement rate of \$0.70.
- J. Krehnke moved, seconded by Norder to approve a 2-year extension for the contract of Principal Ruth Kowalski.
- K. Williams moved, seconded by Miller to approve a 2-year extension for the contract of Superintendent Kel Lampe.
- L. Williams moved, seconded by Krehnke to approve the resignation of JJ Wagner.
- M. Miller moved, seconded by Philippi to approve BDEA as the bargaining agent for certificated, non-supervisory employees for the 2026-27 school year.

Williams moved, seconded by Norder to go into executive session "to prevent needless injury to an individual" at 8:14 PM Philippi moved, seconded by Williams to come out of executive session at 8:30 pm.

Williams moved, seconded by Philippi to adjourn the meeting at 8:30 pm.